Devilbiss vs Devilbiss vs Sagola

Home Forums Main Forum Paint and Refinish Devilbiss vs Devilbiss vs Sagola

This topic contains 15 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Carl Carl 2 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Douglas Diehl
    Douglas Diehl
    Participant

I am looking to replace my old suction feed Binks No.7 spray gun with a newer style gun. I am a hobbyist painter and usually paint in a home made booth in my workshop in my barn. I tried some cheaper HVLP guns over the last few years and alsways go back to my Binks as I was vastly disappointed with the atomization and spray patterns as well as the amount of over spray the cheap HVLP’s produced. Some of the over spray I’m sure was my fault since I turned up the air pressure trying to increase the atomization but all in all they were unacceptable even to me.
    Anyways, the two guns I have narrowed my search to are the Devilbiss GFG-670 Plus or the Tekna Prolite. I can’t seem to find any head to head comparisons and was wondering if people here thought the Tekna was worth the extra $100 or so more than the Plus? Both come with multiple tips while the Tekna comes also with 2 different aircaps. I typically have been shooting single stage urethane paints but will also be shooting some basecoat/clearcoat in the future. I have plenty of primer guns and a few touchup guns so this new gun is for color and clear only. I don’t necessarily mind spending the extra dollars since I see this as an investment, but since I only paint a few vehicle a year I don’t want to spend the extra money if the Plus would work just as well. I have a 5HP 2 stage 60 gal compressor so the air requirements between the two doesn’t bother me.

Profile photo of paul
    paul
    Participant