Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: This young lady needs help!

This young lady needs help! 1 year 4 months ago #30640

• morgan8222
  • New to Refinish Network
Hello everyone,

I am a college student with a 2006 mustang and I could use some advice! I am thinking someone here could help me out. So, my dad owned a body shop and dealership for 25 years of his life and he was very successful. A few months ago he asked me if I'd like him to do something to my car (it's all white). I thought about it for a while and figured out what I wanted (some stripes). Well, I let him have at it and I am very worried that it's going to be a hack job. He has the stripes on, but there are mistakes. He has gotten older and hasn't painted in a while and it seems like he isn't so.... precise anymore.

1. Some spots on the tape line have leaked and there are areas where the edges are not sharp.
2. There are a few spots where it looks like the tape or paper rubbed the paint off before it was dry.
3. there are a few small runs.

After I noticed these things half way through, I would be with him and take off the tape and paper (and that prevented more mistakes).
I am scared my paint job is just wrecked. I do not know what to do. The paint is all on and it hasn't been sanded or polished (or whatever you're supposed to do) yet.

Could ANYONE help me out here? I need to sort of take the reigns and figure out what to do because he apparently can't see the mistakes. I need my car to drive; I can't just leave it sit there. I also can't afford to take it to someone to fix. I guess I am looking for some guidance on what to do.

These are the sort of questions I have:
1. HOW do you fix runs? Do you "sand" with something before polishing?
2. Is there anything one can do to sharpen the edges? Is "sanding" it going to soften the line?

I know I probably sound like an idiot, but I am desperate! I am pretty good at hands on/mechanical stuff if that means anything.